school notes

Dec. 8, 2010

Brookfield Central student named exemplary soloist

Alexander Susko, a student at Brookfield Central High School, performed this fall as one of 20 exemplary soloists from across the state in an honorary recital at the annual Wisconsin State Music Conference in Madison.

Alexander performed a tuba solo.

In spring, the Wisconsin School Music Association adjudicators identified exemplary soloists who performed at nine state solo and ensemble festivals. Of the more than 32,000 students who qualified and participated at the state level, more than 400 received "Exemplary Soloists" certificates. After a careful screening process, 20 of those selected vocal and instrumental soloists performed in the combined recitals on Oct. 28 and 29 for an audience of music teachers, parents, other family members, friends and peers.

For more information on the association, go to

Kindergarten open houses to be held at Elmbrook schools

The Elmbrook School District is holding a series of kindergarten open houses at the district's six elementary schools.

The open houses will be held at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 25 at the following sites:

• Burleigh Elementary, 16185 Burleigh Place,

• Brookfield Elementary, 2530 N. Brookfield Road,

• Dixon Elementary, 2400 Pilgrim Square Drive,

• Hillside Elementary, 2250 Lynette Lane,

• Swanson Elementary, 305 N. Calhoun Road, and

• Tonawanda Elementary, 13605 Underwood Parkway, Elm Grove.

Families with children who will be 5 years old on or before Sept. 1, 2011, should receive a packet of information in the mail this month with an invitation to this event.

Those who don't receive a packet should contact the district's Communications Department at (262) 782-2960.

Three seats up for election on Elmbrook School Board

Three seats are up for election on the Elmbrook School Board this spring, and interested candidates have until Jan. 4 to circulate their nomination papers.

Board President Tom Gehl (Area III seat) and board member Kathryn Wilson (at-large seat) have announced that they plan to seek new terms, while board member Gary Jones (Area I seat) said he will not seek another term.

Candidates for at-large seats may live anywhere within the district, but candidates representing specific areas must live within that area. Board members are elected to three-year terms.

For information on candidacy requirements, visit


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries