School Board Notes: Dec. 15

Dec. 15, 2009

Elmbrook will have primary for at-large seat

With six candidates in the race for two Elmbrook School Board at-large seats, the district will hold a primary election Feb. 16 to narrow the pool of contenders.

Five Elmbrook residents will challenge incumbent School Board member Bob Ziegler in the race for two at-large board seats up for election April 6.

In addition to Ziegler, Warren Groff, Beth Horneffer, Sandra Schultz, Barry Wightman and Kathryn Wilson have all filed campaign registration statements for the at-large spots, Deputy Clerk Pat Felde said.

The four top vote-getters in the primary will advance to the general election.

The top vote-getter in that race will be elected to a three-year term, filling the seat currently held by Ziegler. The candidate with the second-highest number of votes will be elected to a one-year term, serving the remainder of the term recently vacated by Brookfield mayoral candidate David Marcello.

So far, incumbent Glen Allgaier is unchallenged for re-election to the board's Area II seat. A primary will be held for that seat if more than two candidates file.

For the at-large seat, candidates may live anywhere within the district. Only residents living in Area II, roughly the district's northwest quadrant, are eligible to run for the Area II seat. All voters can vote for all seats.

Board members serve three-year terms and are paid $3,600 per year. The filing period to declare candidacy for the election ends Jan. 5.

Elmbrook will close building offices for holidays

Elmbrook School District's Central Administrative Offices will have abbreviated hours for the holidays.

The building will be close at 4:30 p.m. Dec. 24, reopening at 8 a.m. Dec. 28. It will close again at 4:30 p.m. Dec. 29, reopening at 8 a.m. Jan. 4.

Normal hours for the office are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.

District schools are closed starting Dec. 23, and will reopen Jan. 4.

Jones named chairman of board's policy

Elmbrook School Board member Gary Jones will replace David Marcello as chairman of the Policy and Legislative Committee

Marcello resigned his at-large seat on the board Nov. 24 to run for mayor.

Board members Nov. 24 opted not to fill Marcello's at-large seat on the board.

Marcello's seats on the Curriculum and Personnel committees will remain vacant until after a replacement is elected this spring.

For now, those committees, along with the Policy and Legislative Committee, will function with two board members.

Marcello honored for service on School Board

Keeping with tradition, School Board members took time during their Dec. 8 meeting to commend former board member David Marcello for his service to the Elmbrook School District.

Marcello was elected to the board in April 2008 and served until Nov. 24, when he resigned to focus on his candidacy in the Brookfield mayoral race and spend more time with his family. During his time on the board, Marcello served as a member of the Curriculum, Personnel and Policy and Legislative committees and chair of the Policy and Legislative committee. Marcello was also the board liaison to the city of Brookfield for the 2035 master planning process.

School Board President Tom Gehl presented Marcello with commendations from the office of state Senator Ted Kanavas and the Wisconsin Association of School Boards.


Local Crime Map



Latest Photo Galleries