Brookfield Central's Obasih, Harris named first-team all-GMC

Lancer football team to lose 32 seniors

Nov. 20, 2012

The Brookfield Central football team made the playoffs this season (always one of its goals), but the Lancers struggled in the rugged Greater Metro Conference, finishing in fourth place with a 4-3 record.

One of the three preseason co-favorites to start the year, the Lancers won two thrillers, 19-18, at Mukwonago and 21-14 in overtime at West Allis Hale. But then Central ran into one of the co-favorites Sussex Hamilton and dropped a disappointing 38-21 decision.

Central then blanked Marquette, another preseason co-favorite, 24-0, but got blown out by eventual GMC champion and crosstown rival, Brookfield East, 37-14.

The Lancers then beat up on West Allis Central, 36-6, and Wauwatosa East, 54-12, before closing out the conference season with a 14-0 loss as they played without their starting quarterback.

"We always point to the toughness of our conference," Central coach Jamie Meulemans said. "Hale beat Badger, which went deep into the playoffs. There was a lot of parity in our conference. I think Sussex Hamilton and Brookfield East were the upper echelon."

The Lancers then whipped South Milwaukee, 33-8, in the first round of the playoffs before losing to Whitefish Bay, 28-3, to end the year with a 6-4 record.

"We made it to the playoffs, winning a game and then losing to someone who went very far," said Meulemans when asked about the season highlights.

Meulemans had some nice performances to look back on.

Central had two first-team all-GMC selections in senior defensive lineman Chikwe Obasih and junior running back DeMario Harris, who scored 10 touchdowns and rushed for 1,055 yards.

The Lancers also had five second-team picks - junior place-kicker Steven Knopp and junior offensive guard Elijah Goodman and senior defensive back Billy Schim, senior inside linebacker Stephen Ambrookian and senior linebacker Austin Vanark.

Honorable mention honors went to offensive tackles senior Jacob Homa and junior Luke Rasmussen; senior center Austin Cebula; senior running back Marcus Crum; junior defensive back Terry Wallen, senior defensive back Abe Tanel and senior defensive lineman Dan Sorenson.

Meulemans will have to replace 32 seniors.

"Having 30-plus seniors was nice and how they led our team," Meulemans said.

The seniors are Ambrookian, Cebula, Crum, Homa, Obasih, Schim, Vanark, Sorenson, Kyle Culley, Drew Degner, Chris Dubois, Mike Egan, Andrew Kallie, Amir Kaloti, Mike Kaminsky, Logan Knapp, Tad Korslin, Brent Mazurek, Charlie McCoy, Vantwon Melton, Brandon Meyer, Ray Meyer, Austin Pegg, Eric Ranchau, Robert Rossmiller, Dominic Sferra, Dan Seaman, Adam Shady, Connor Shipman, Abe Tanel, Max Thiede and Jason Toney.




Latest Photo Galleries